Home > The Kagayanon Advocate, The Kagayanon Fitness > 5k CDO Night Run (Fight Against Tuberculosis)

5k CDO Night Run (Fight Against Tuberculosis)

I joined another fun run again…in less than a week from my very first fun run. It’s still a 5k run but the route is different and this time, it happened in the evening. My first time to run at night. Also, it’s an event for the World TB Day – A move fighting against Tuberculosis. Fitness and Advocacy in one!

So glad a fellow Cdoblogger Wella came with me. Without her, I was sure I wouldn’t be able to join this run.

We met up somewhere in divisoria and walked towards the Rodelsa Circle. Upon arriving, there were already a lot of people. I noticed that it was a huge crowd, way way bigger than the first fun run I joined.

We headed to the registration area. Fortunately, walk-ins were allowed. Plus, instead of paying P350, they only charged us P200.00. Lucky enough eh? Yes. We got out jersey shirts, meal, and LED lights. Since it was still 7pm (and the run was to start at 8:30 pm), we took photos while waiting for the program to start.

…and I met my co-teachers (Sir Rodel, Sir Gilbert, and Sir Nico) too.

At almost 7:30, the opening program started. A talk about Tuberculosis was given, video presentations of the many faces of TB patients where shown, details of the event and the advocacy were presented and a band (Euthopia Band) played some songs for the pre-run party.

Here’s a video of the pre-run party:

Obviously, the participants were enjoying the night.

It rained at the middle of the program, by the way. And I promised to myself I will not run if it will rain.

Fortunately, the rain stopped and the fun continued.

Finally, 8:30 pm came and the run was about to start! All the participants were at the starting point already, prepared for running… jogging… and walking? hehehe.

5…4…3…2…1!!! Run!!

I wasn’t able to take photos and videos while running. I was more serious in running this time around. Just focused on getting to the finish line.

The first 2.5 kilometer went smoothly. We passed by the new bridge to carmen, then made our way to the carmen bridge and the cathedral, and back to rodelsa circle.

Since we joined the 5K run, we have to make two lapses. Unfortunately, it rained when we were already at our second turn. At about 1 kilometer before the finish line, the rain fell hard. We were wet both with rainwater and our sweat. How cool was that??? I don’t know. hahaha.

In less than 40 minutes, I was able to complete the 5K run! That’s faster than my first run! I was so happy! πŸ™‚

Took photos at the end. Did not join the after-run party anymore. We were so dead tired.

The 5k Night Run was a success!!!! Let’s fight against Tuberculosis!

FYI: I ran with my SHOULDER BAG full of things like my denim pants and 2 t-shirts, a bottle of mineral water on my hand, and a runny nose. That made my run more challenging and tiring.Β Β Lesson of the day: Go light!

The Kagay-anon!-

  1. March 19, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Great post!! The lead vocalist of the band is my cousin! By the way, their band name is Utopia (that perfect place). πŸ™‚ Wish I could have joined in on the fun but I was too tired from my class on the same night. Next time, perhaps.

    • March 21, 2011 at 6:31 am

      oh really. that’s great! πŸ™‚ will be posting info about future fun runs soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment